Advice about handling visual states

Sep 5, 2010 at 10:03 AM

Hello,

I have been battling with setting up visual states in my application, and I would really use some advice...

First, here is my scenario. I have a list of objects (UI models) which represents tasks in my MainViewModel. They have 2 "state groups": they can be "up-to-date", "waiting for input" or "waiting for work" on one hand, "active" or "inactive" on the other hand. This list is bound to a ListBox. When the user double clicks on a task, it opens a tab with the task details. It doesn't seem too fancy, but I'm new to visual states and I think I got confused somewhere...

As far as I understood, I cannot use visual states or triggers in a DataTemplate, so I move all my XAML to a UserControl. I am really bad at unit testing (I never know what to test or how), but I want to do it the right way (or at least try), so I decided to use IVSM. But, I am working with UI models in this list, so I think it is a bad idea to have services or states in UI models, it belongs to view models as far as I understood it, right? So I probably need to encapsulate my UI models in specific view models for this list. This view model will only be responsible for handling states, am I correct?

I have been circling since yesterday, so I want to know if I'm headed in the right direction here...

Thanks for the help.

Damien

Coordinator
Sep 6, 2010 at 6:21 AM

Triggers CAN totally be used in DataTemplates/Styles. So can VisualStates.

And yeah you want it so the VisualState to go to is in your ViewModel using the IVSM service, or use some properties of your VM if using triggers.

Sep 7, 2010 at 1:48 PM
Edited Sep 7, 2010 at 1:53 PM

Good news that VisualStates can be used in DataTemplates. I had some issues with them, googled and found some articles stating that VisualStates cannot be used inside DataTemplates and recommending to use UserControls. But maybe my issue was somewhere else. I'll definitely try that, thank you.