Versioned services/exports

Jul 31, 2010 at 10:41 PM
Edited Aug 1, 2010 at 8:46 AM

Hi Sacha,

first of all, sorry for my english and you doing great job here. I think Cinch, especially CinchV2, is the best MVVM framework for me.

Little bit about me. I'm pretty new in the world of WPF, MVVM and MEF, but I try my best. Eight months ago I started to implement some kind of RCP (Rich Client Platform like eclipse) for my actual project and future projects. My choice was WPF+Cinch (V1)+AvalonDock+MEF for extensibility. So I modefied your framework a little bit for MEF support and started my work. This platform running well and have many features like LayoutManager(AvalonDock), DocumentManager, Menu and Toolbar support and all this is MEF based. So it's very easy to extend menu, document types and ... of some application.

CinchV2 and MEF support was great news for me, but it's not so easy to upgrade for me (e.g. i did't use MEFedMVVM). But I had allways the feeling to not use all the power of your framework, so I take a decision to merge my ideas with CinchV2 in a new platform project and try to make it cleaner and more "Cinch based".

So first of all I need "versioned exports" for easy way to change some things, e.g. UIVisualiserService or LayoutManager, in the future by simply placing some dll with new version of some service and done. So I made my own custom ExportProvider to get the right exports. It's looks like this

[ExportService(ServiceType.Runtime, typeof(IDocumentManager))]
[ExportMetadata("Version", "1.0.0.0")]
public class DocumentManager : ViewModelBase, IDocumentManager
{
}

and ExportPrvider.GetExportsCore()

protected override System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable<Export> GetExportsCore(ImportDefinition definition, AtomicComposition atomicComposition)
        {

List<Export> exports = new List<Export>();
            IEnumerable<Export> exp = null;
            if (!_exportProvider.TryGetExports(definition, atomicComposition, out exp))
            {